The OCSEF Board is happy to announce that we are awarding scholarships to the senior class of 2021 at higher levels than ever before. The generosity of our community coupled with the sound investment strategy of the OCSEF Endowment has left the fund in a strong position to help our children as they start their careers.

The following scholarships awarded to graduating seniors are funded by the investment growth of the OCSEF endowment. In 2021, 25 seniors were awarded a total of $32,950 without spending down the endowment.

A scholarship is given to a senior who is pursuing a Family Consumer Science, Design, or Human Development related career.

2020 Winner:

Trinity Bennett, SUNY Buffalo

A scholarship is given by the family and friends of the Cameron family in memory of Carolyn Cameron Carter, and Kathleen and Gordon Cameron.

2020 Winner:

Morgan Isgar, Onondaga Community College

Charles and Roseland Molloy were long-time residents of the OCS district who supported student scholarship, sports, drama, and music.  Charles served on the planning committee for the construction of Wheeler School, and Roseland was Wheeler’s first secretary.  Long after their own four children graduated from OCS, Charles and Roseland continued to support OCS through their devotion to extended family members, financial support of school activities, and attendance at games, meets, and concerts.  Charles, renowned for his “Go you tigers!” cheer, was one of the charter members of the OCSEF in 1984 and the driving force behind the creation of its endowment fund.

This award was originally funded by memorial donations from the OCS community and additional contributions from the Molloy family.  Its goal is to help a deserving OCS senior pay for the costs of higher education.  The OCSEF will have evaluated the recipient and assessed his or her work ethic, academic potential, academic performance, participation in OCS sports and activities, and service to the community.

2021 Winner:

Given by the family and friends of Jean and Richard Howe, who were firm believers in community involvement.  Jean was instrumental in starting the OCS Education Foundation, and Richard was a great supporter of this work and the school.  These scholarships are awarded to graduating seniors continuing their education full-time in two-year schools.  Preference is given to students who have demonstrated a strong civic commitment with the encouragement that they continue to make the world a better place.

2020 Winners: 

Zahara Almaliki, Onondaga Community College

Danilo Mango, Onondaga Community College

These scholarships are made available through the generosity of Gary and Jean (Delaney) Keehfus, members of Onondaga Central’s Class of 1962.  Two scholarships will be given to students who will be attending four-year colleges and two scholarships will be given to students attending two-year or technical schools.  Preference will be given to students who have demonstrated academic excellence, participated in school activities, and served the greater OCS community.

2020 Winners:

Allee Mack, University of Virginia

Raymond Anderson, Wilkes University

Jordyn Polge, Onondaga Community College

Nathaniel Holl, Clarkson University

Through continued support from family and friends, this scholarship is offered in the memory of James E. Delaney II, whose life was cut short in 2008.  Also known as JD or Jamie, he leaves behind a legacy of kindness, loyalty and commitment to his family, friends, and community.  Jim spent countless hours volunteering and unselfishly dedicating himself to benefit others.  He was a hard worker and the friend you could always count on.  He was known for his ability to bring out the best in everyone who knew him.  Jim will be memorialized through the recipient of this scholarship who demonstrates the characteristics of living life selflessly.

2021 Winner:

A scholarship given to a student who will be furthering his or her education in a technical field of study such as automobile technology, agriculture, nursing, or cosmetology.  This scholarship has been made possible through the generosity of Mr. Wayne L. Fellows (OCS ’65) and his wife Carol Fellows.

2020 Winner:

Jake Massaro, SUNY ESF

A scholarship is awarded from a fund bequeathed by Philip E. Moore, OCS Class of 1975, in recognition of the educational values and careers of his father, Warren E. Moore, who was Onondaga Central School Principal from 1953 to 1958 and Superintendent from 1959 to 1974, and his grandfather, E. Stewart Powlesland, who was Principal of Onondaga Valley Academy from 1925 to 1965.  This scholarship is given to a college-bound senior whose record predicts academic success.  The recipient is an outstanding all-around student as demonstrated by high academic achievement, active participation in extra-curricular activities, a record of service to the community, and a strong work ethic.

2020 Winner:

Samantha Geis, Cornell University

This scholarship is created and funded by generous members of the Class of 1965.  This award is presented to a senior who has demonstrated service to the school and community, a strong work ethic, and promising academic potential.

2020 Winner:

Maia McIntosh, SUNY Cobleskill

Alumni from the OCS Class of 1968 endowed this award in 2021 and appointed the OCSEF to evaluate applicants.  The recipient will be a graduating senior who not only has a strong academic record but who has demonstrated school spirit through service to the community and participation in extra-curricular activities. 

2021 Winner:

The criteria for these scholarships are academic potential, academic record, work record, service to OCS, and service to community.  OCSEF scholarships are funded by its endowment along with donations from District residents, local businesses, and OCS alumni.

2020 Winners:

Zachary Delaney, Hobart and William Smith Colleges

Natalie Maiorano, Hobart and William Smith Colleges

Lauren Myer, St John Fisher College

Madison Hourigan, Cazenovia College

Gracie Francis, Nazereth College

Camille Mason, James Madison University

Emily Amidon, Keuka College

Aleseia Roach, SUNY Cobleskill

Mikhayla Scott, Lemoyne College

This scholarship was endowed in 2021 by donations in memory of Shirley Toomey, a long-time supporter of the students and programs of OCS.  The recipient is a graduating senior pursuing a career in law enforcement or the medical field. 

2021 Winner:

Help build a future for education
You can support the next generation of OCS Students


Receive issues of Joyful Echoes, alumni news, upcoming events & much more!